mapsvilla.blogg.se

Textmate online manual
Textmate online manual








textmate online manual
  1. #Textmate online manual drivers#
  2. #Textmate online manual series#
  3. #Textmate online manual mac#

#Textmate online manual mac#

Clearly, I needed a native Mac editor.īBEdit was the natural choice. X Windows programs were just ugly on a Mac, mainly because fonts didn’t get anti-aliased. I got NEdit installed and running, but it was clear from the start that it wasn’t right, either. Since Panther came with X Windows, I figured I could get that running and use my fave rave Linux editor, NEdit.

textmate online manual

I could use TextEdit, of course, but that wasn’t going to be a long-term solution because it didn’t have the programmability I’d gotten used to with Linux editors. The next step was to choose a text editor. I moved my personalized LaTeX packages and fonts over, and did all the updmap stuff necessary to tie them into the TeX system. One of the first things I did was get TeX installed, which went pretty smoothly with Gerben Wierda’s now-deprecated i-Installer. That 4:3 screen looks weird nowadays, doesn’t it? So I got a 12″ iBook G4 in either December 2004 or January 2005, a wonderful little machine that I just retired this past December after six years of faithful service. But by late 2004, the hardware seemed cool enough and fast enough to be workable. I’d blocked enough airflow out of its “chimney” that it overheated and shut down to protect itself. The first time I saw a Cube, I put my hand over the top of it-not touching it, mind you, keeping at least an inch away-and caused an immediate shutdown. There was no way I could have that sitting on my thighs. I’d lift up a laptop and practically burn my hand on the underside. Most of that time, what impressed me about Macs was how goddamned hot they ran. During my Linux years, whenever I was in a computer store, I’d go over to the Mac section and have a look. I would not move to a non-Unix or substandard Unix platform. This was important because my Linux days had taught me how wonderful Unix was, especially for someone who worked mainly with text files.

textmate online manual

OS X’s teething days were over and had become, with Panther, a decent Unix environment. The Mac had come a long way since 1997.I wanted to spend more time using my computers and less time configuring them. And getting Linux installed and running well on a laptop, where there was no opportunity to mix and match components, was a dicey proposition.

#Textmate online manual drivers#

Linux had made great strides in compatibility in the years I’d been using it, but I still had to make sure there were drivers for the internal cards and peripherals I bought for my desktop computer.

  • I was tired of having to know and configure everything on my computer.
  • I’d been using Linux since 1997 and was quite comfortable with it, but three things were pulling me back to the Mac: Today’s topic is switching back to the Mac.

    #Textmate online manual series#

    Both of these changes occurred in 20 and went in parallel, so I’ll have to abandon the chronological structure of the series and switch to a thematic organization. This post and the next are going to cover two big changes in the way I worked: the move from Linux back to the Mac, and the adoption of Markdown for almost everything I write. If you’re late to the party, here are Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, and Part 3.5. Yesterday’s release of BBEdit 10 has spurred me to finally get this post written, a good three months after the last one in the series. Next post Previous post Text files and me IV - BBEdit and TextMate










    Textmate online manual